top of page

YSL Foundation & Highlighter... Must Have or Miss?

YSL Le Teint Touche Eclat Foundation & Highlighter - Product Review

[SHORT VERSION]

Foundation:

I am not too sure where to begin with this review, the service from the staff, the coverage or the colour?

No SPF, super oily, messy to use and matched with the wrong colour (but we’ll get to that later).

I’m not someone who is prone to break-outs, but with this product, each time I applied it to my face, I broke-out. I have used other products with oil in them and I have been fine, but this one is a firm disappointment. Unfortunately, searching other reviews, there has been this same problem. I found it super messy to use, the pump was quite stiff and when it finally decides to work, you get about 10x more out of it than you actually need and ends up being wasted.

The coverage was okay, but considering the only time I would wear a no SPF foundation is if I was having photos taken, it has no use to me. To see more, read the full version below.

For an RRP of $57, I would expect better from a well-known brand.

Highlighter:

On the upside, this is my favourite tool yet! Although, I do go through it quickly, it is exactly what you are looking for in a highlighter. A soft application tip, easy to use and apply, and the colour is a perfect match. I also found no problems after using on my skin. Fine lines and dark circles are sure to not be seen.

RRP: $42 (I do believe you can get better value, although, this is my preferred highlighter)

[FULL VERSION]

I was so happy when I found out that I had won a years supply of YvesSaintLaurent (YSL), I felt rather lucky! Wait though, and read on…

Foundation:

I am not too sure where to begin with this review, the service from the staff, the coverage or the colour?

No SPF, super oily and matched with the wrong colour (but we’ll get to that later).

I’m not someone who is prone to breakouts, but with this product, each time I applied it to my face, I broke-out. I have used other products with oil in them and I have been fine, but this one is a firm disappointment. Unfortunately, searching other reviews, there has been this same problem. I found it super messy to use, the pump was quite stiff to use and when it finally decides to work, you get about 10x more out of it than you actually need and ends up being wasted. The coverage was okay, nothing to rave about, but considering the only time I would wear a no SPF foundation is if I was having photos taken, it has no use to me.

The staff: The girls at head office were delightful, the female sales assistant at DJ’s (David Jones) at Robina on the other hand – the rudest person in retail I have come across who could not give her customers the time of day. Coming from a background of retail, I know this is one persons’ employment I would want to be reviewing. I haven’t even mentioned that when I asked for a colour match she refused to even apply the product to my skin which resulted in a shade that looks to be two shades light than I should have got.

Highlighter: (same as short version)

On the upside, this is my favourite tool yet! I totally see why this is one of their best sellers. Although, I do go through it quickly, it is exactly what you are looking for in a highlighter. A soft application tip, easy to use and apply, and the colour pallet is a perfect match. I also found no problems after using on my skin. Fine lines and dark circles are sure to not be seen.

Foundation RRP: $57

Highlighter RRP: $42

 Search by Tags 
No tags yet.
bottom of page